Tomato Basil Veggie Burgers

on

Hey, hi, hello there! Wow, quite sometime since I have posted a recipe! Where has the time flown? Finished up my sophomore year of college which left me completely wiped out and I needed a couple weeks of chilling and slothing to feel like I have recuperated. Luckily, I gained some motivation back in the kitchen and assembled the greatest veggie burgers I have made thus far! I also get so STOKED when I take the first bite of something I made and it turns out PHENOMENAL. I bask in my own self glory for a bit and get even more excited to share the recipe with you all! All you need is an oven, a hungry tummy, and hopefully a ripe avocado to top these bad boys 😉

Recipe:

  • 1 15 oz can canellini, black, or pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/3 cup sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/3 cup grated carrot
  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce, tamari, or liquid aminos
  • 1-2 Tbsp worchestershire sauce
  • 1 flax egg (2 Tbsp ground flaxseed + 3 Tbsp water)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil or coconut oil
  • 2 Tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • black pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Bake pumpkin seeds and oats for about 7-10 minutes until a little toasty.

Make flax egg and set aside.

In a large bowl, mash beans with a fork or potato masher but leave some beans whole for some consistency. Add in all ingredients except for the oats and pumpkin seeds and stir well.

Fold in the oats and pumpkin seeds and mix until everything is combined. If mixture is too pasty, feel free to add a little flour or breadcrumbs to the mix. Tightly pack into 4-6 patties and bake for 15 minutes. Flip the patties and bake for another 20 minutes.

These have sooo much flavor that I have eaten them just plain as a snack… but if you live on the wild side these are amazing with a bun + all the fixins too! Avocado is the perfect topper for this veggie burger, but I am biased because I could eat avocado for every meal 😉

I also really like added tzatziki sauce, roasted red peppers, hummus, or feta on top for maxed out flavor ❤

Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Chloe says:

    Welcome back gorgeous!
    Oh my, these veggie burgers look amazing! Will definitely be adding them to my dinner list this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. superfitbabe says:

    Glad to have you back, Emmy love! ❤ These veggie burgers look so delicious and beautiful! Sun-dried tomatoes are my favorite addition to burgers in general!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

