I Don’t Need A Label

I’m just going to jump right into this because it’s something I have been wanting to get off my chest. As most of you know I made the change to a completely vegan lifestyle in September 2016. You can read about that here. While I feel like this was exactly what I wanted to do for my body and for animals, I am trying to decide if this is exactly what I need to do right now….

Having recovered from a restrictive eating disorder, I know I am in a place now where I would never put that stress on my body ever again. However, I will admit that sometimes I do still feel restricted from certain things if it’s not 100% vegan. I think back to my life before I went vegan, before my eating disorder, heck even before puberty when I was completely carefree about everything. I want that again. Not saying I have been cutting back on my intake because I actually got myself to gain some weight being vegan, but I did it in ways that was a lot harder to do than if I had eaten some animal products.

I still truly believe a plant-based diet is one of the healthiest ways to live, but I do not want to feel like I have to live up to a certain standard just so I can label myself as “vegan”. Food should not have that much control over anyone…. its just food.

I was nervous about posting this out of fear of judgement from other vegans, but I really don’t care anymore. I do not need a label. I don’t need to live under anyone else’s standards either. If I get judgement from my choice, that doesn’t make you a better person. I just want to be happy. Completely happy. And as a college student it’s sometimes really hard to find a 100% vegan option when out with friends or at a social event. In that case I don’t want to be the only one left hungry and missing out on fun times because I couldn’t eat something that wasn’t completely vegan.

You have to do what is right for you. Doesn’t matter if you choose to be vegan, paleo, gluten free, whatever… we are all still human and food shouldn’t be super stressed out about. I will decide what is right for me. That being said, if something I eat has a little dairy or egg in it, it’s okay. No one should care so much what I choose to do anyways. I still don’t want to eat meat and that’s a personal decision of mine.

Shout out to Jen’s video for inspiring me to speak out ❤ She says it perfectly.

Afterthought, I would one day love to post videos of me talking instead of just blog posts but I find myself so camera awkward that I don’t think I could handle it hahah. But if anyone has any thoughts I am all ears!

6 thoughts on “I Don’t Need A Label

  1. Ava says:

    Emmy, I am so proud of you for letting go of the label. It’s such a positive change and I promise it will make your life so much happier and more free. This post fills me with joy. And I totally think you should start making videos! Everyone’s a little awkward at first… you just have to get comfortable and used to it. I think your videos could really help people. Love you!

    Like

  2. Theresa says:

    Good for you, Emmy. I’m so proud of you for taking a step towards doing what’s right for you without fear of judgement of what other people might think or say. I think we find comfort in “labeling” our diets whether we refer to it as “vegan”, “vegetarian”, “paleo”, “gluten-free”, “plant-based” or whatever the case may be. You, myself, and every other girl (and guy!) out there don’t need to justify our diets to anyone. You go girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chloe says:

    so proud of you girl! you should never have to justify the way you eat, however I understand.. being honest on social media can really open us up to vulnerability and unnecessary negativity.

    I am very much the same as you. I recently realised I feel better when I eat more of a plant based diet, however eat meat on occasion when my body wants it. coming from years of distorted eating a restricted lifestyle, I don’t want to go back to that and want to continue to honour my body and what it needs. I think that’s the most important thing you can do for you and your body. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. appleslover says:

    I hope you’ll eat what’s best for YOU. I don’t believe one kind of diet is best for everyone. I think there are a lot of vegans out there that are really rough on people that aren’t vegan. Maybe it’s partially a reaction to a lot of meat-eaters posting pictures about bacon. 😛 Hah, just a theory. I’m a long-time vegetarian, recovered from a restrictive ED. I am an “ethical” vegetarian and I think being vegan would match my ideals BUT I also think it would be really challenging and set me up for possible disaster. I respect veganism and I definitely see it as a lifestyle choice, not a “diet.” But I think everyone needs to back down on the preaching of what others should eat. I don’t tell meat eaters that I think meat is gross (even though of course I think that) because what they eat is none of my business. Just as what you eat is no one else’s business. It’s totally fine to eat some dairy sometimes if you feel a plant-based diet is too restrictive. I just know that vegans hold the label “vegan” as very sacred. I have a long-time vegan friend that corrects me whenever I’ve mentioned “vegan diet.” Vegan doesn’t describe just how he eats — it describes him as a person and his lifestyle. So that’s the only reason I’d be careful w/ the terminology there.

    But the vegan recovery accounts on Instagram that preach chia seeds and dates are the cure to all woes and you’re a murderous, terrible creature if you eat any kind of animal product can just F off, IMO. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

