Balancing Mental & Physical Well-being

Hey guys! I decided to pop in and give a little update on myself since it’s been a hot minute since I blogged. Something I have been really trying to work on lately is my mental and physical well-being and trying to figure out what is right for ME.

For years I spent my time scrolling through social media and the Web to figure out what exactly “healthy” meant. Was it going for a run every day? Lifting weights 5 times a week? Eating only chicken and broccoli? Counting macros?

Want to know what I learned from all of this? Healthy means something different for each individual.

To me, health isn’t just what you are doing, it’s also about what you are thinking and saying. To me, eating only chicken, egg whites and veggies isn’t healthy- for my own physical and mental well-being. For me, running a lot is not healthy simply because I don’t really love it nor should I be doing it until I figure out what’s wrong with my hormones.

Right now healthy means doing what I TRULY want. If that means lounging around all day,

mac

so be it. If that means eating a box of mac and cheese to myself for lunch,

so be it. I am tired of feeling like I “SHOULD” be doing something that is working for someone else.

Life is about discovery, adventure, and experiences. Not wasting your time trying to mold yourself to be like someone else. I am trying to do what fulfills ME for once.

What my workouts have consisted of this week:

Monday: chest/triceps/core

Tuesday: long trail walk with some jogging

Wednesday: back/biceps

Thursday: rest/stretching

Friday: rest

Saturday: 45 leg workout with my mom (still sore…)

Sunday: leisurely swimming in my pool

May not seem like much to some people but I’m not here to try to impress anyone. I don’t like to workout on days that I go to work in the morning because my job is mentally and physically draining and I do not have the energy for it.

shop

Excuse me while I laugh my ass off at this typical “fit girl” pose… lighting was flattering.

Mentally I have been up & down. I still sometimes struggle with being lazy on some days but I know that rest is very important and so is keeping stress levels down.

So tell me…

What is something you truly love to do?

Who is someone you love to workout with?

 

13 thoughts on “Balancing Mental & Physical Well-being

  1. Colby Triolo says:

    I adore this and completely agree, there is no set definition to healthy or fit, it is what works for YOU. You know my motto, you make you hehehe. And interesting thought on the work thing, I feel you with work physically and mentally just draining you, glad to know I am not the only one haha! Anyway, hola to notifications are reading this 10 minutes after its posting<3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. confidentcookie says:

    I love this post! I love working out with my older sister. During the school year we spent so much time together since we both took classes before school and now that she is going to college in the fall I want us to continue spending time together even though we won’t be in school together anymore. She never fails to make me laugh and always reminds me not to be too hard on myself and to enjoy life 😊

    Like

  3. Lyss says:

    Love this Em and totally agree with so much of what you said- girl I’m right there with ya with resting. Lounging feels pretty damn good sometimes! And I’m a sucker for mac and cheese, I’m a sucker for cheese in general haha. Excited for another phone call date soon hehe

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ellie says:

    I agree with you completely. Also, what is healthy changes for each person depending on the time of year or even weekly. Someone might not be running now, but might want to train for a race someday. That means their healthy exercise would be different.
    In regard to food, sometimes my stomach can handle certain things fine, other times, not so much. Food combining, time of say, hydration level all matter and are all individual. The body knows what it wants/needs. It’s easiest just to trust it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. June says:

    i’m glad your instagram break is serving you well. i agree that health is different for everyone! however, i think your workouts might be the reason your hormones aren’t regulated properly… rest and extra nutrition are incredibly important for endocrine health, especially since you already have an active job (as you mentioned)! one thing i love to do is travel 🙂 and i love to do yoga as well! i love running with friends but i am taking a break from exercise at the moment. sending positive vibes!! ❤

    Like

    • Emmy says:

      Thank you for making me see that I’m not alone. It’s really hard to wrap my head around stopping lifting because I am afraid of losing the progress I’ve made. But you are right that the rest I am taking is going to be very helpful in the long run.

      Like

  6. superfitbabe says:

    Great read Emmy! Sometimes you just need to take a break from all the algorithmic cults. Anyways, your triceps are looking phenomenal! So defined and toned. I’ve been loving HIIT, running and skipping–like I always have!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

