Why I’m Quitting Instagram

Well, it’s about time. After 2 1/2 years of having my recovery into health account, I’m done. And here’s why:

It’s a big waste of my time. Yes, at one point is was very helpful to me, but now it just seems like a chore. I love to help people recover and give them motivation, but I cannot heal someone, they have to do the work for themselves. And I cannot spend my entire life trying to get others to recover and repeat what I have preached over and over and over. It makes my brain hurt.

Comparison. Not only do I find myself somewhat comparing my lifestyle to others, but people do it to me. And that’s when it becomes unhelpful. I don’t need to hear about how someone walked 20,000 steps that day or THEIR fitness goals when I need to just be focusing on my own. I don’t need to constantly expose myself to others bodies 24/7…. it just gets old. And while I’m sitting here eating a big bowl of oatmeal w/ banana, chocolate, peanut butter and milk… someone else is eating just a bar for a snack. Yeah, cool.

6e3e5-megusta

I would like to eat my ugly but delicious food without taking a damn picture of it. I mean come on, some of the best foods seem to either be unphotogenic, sloppy, or brown. I’m tired of trying to find “good lighting” and such for a picture while my food gets cold. No. Not fair to me.

ddd

Hearing other people’s problems all day long really becomes like a broken record, especially when it’s the same person with the same problem over and over again. Just so you know, CHANGE doesn’t happen unless you do.

People try to act like they know me but they don’t. I get people commenting about my food and saying it’s “super clean” or “super unhealthy”. Um okay then. I guess you didn’t see that slice of pizza I scarfed down after work but didn’t take a picture of. And I guess that second person doesn’t realize what balance eating is. Because I assure you I don’t eat pints of ice cream every single day nor do I shove my face with only carrot sticks. I do not need other people to tell me how to live my life when I am living it perfectly fine. No restrictions, no dieting, no weight loss, no weight gain, but HEALTHY.

I just want to move on. I thought at one point it would be worth it to keep that account for free things or special offers, but it’s just not worth it anymore. I just want to be happy and eat good food and stay out with my friends and not put even more pressure on myself for keeping up with a big account.

Maybe I just need a break or maybe this is a final goodbye, I haven’t decided yet. But for now, I will keep my account open so people can see how I got myself healthy and so there’s a link to my blog. 

As for my blog, I think I will definitely keep it. I don’t always get to post about everything I would like to because I have a busy schedule now but I want people to find it and get something out of it hopefully. I like to talk about things on here almost like I’m writing in a notebook. Plus, its where I keep some old recipes πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Why I’m Quitting Instagram

  1. pilatespearlsandpeanutbutter says:

    Honestly, I resonate so much with a lot of what you said! I’m so impressed with your bravery coming out and being honest about the dark side of being an Instagrammer. It IS so easy to fall into the comparison trap and it can be kind of stressful to have to “keep up posting” at times. Although I don’t think I’ll ever delete mine, it’s seriously crossed my mind at times. Thanks again for your honesty πŸ™‚ . I’ll definitely be sure to keep following you through your blog though.

    Like

  2. Jessica says:

    “Change doesn’t happen unless you do.” Hell yes Em.
    I can relate to this so much. Instagram is great, but it is so time consuming, and I find myself so lost in it, that I forget to live my own life. You should be so proud girl. I definitely am. I look up to you so much, even if you are younger than me πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. superfitbabe says:

    I respect your decision to quit Instagram and I will seriously miss your positive photos. I’m glad that you’re keeping your blog so you can continue to write these wonderful posts! I totally understand where you’re coming from–Instagram is becoming a bit too algorithmic and fake like Facebook and all. It’s sad that what used to be such a positive and fun platform is now a center for hate and nasty competition.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hana says:

    Love you girly and I support all your decisions. I hope we still remain in contact because you’ve been such a great support to me ❀ Sending you all the love and I couldn't be more happy with seeing your huge progress ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. wanderthemountains says:

    Totally respect your decision. First and foremost, your Instagram account should be for YOU, and if you’re not feeling it anymore, you definitely shouldn’t feel obligated to continue on with it. I can totally relate to this post… I’ve definitely scaled back with the posting on my recovery account (alicia_eats) and try to just post when I feel like it and make it more about yummy food rather than eating disorders. It’s tough. Your IG account will be missed – it’s always been one of my favorites and you seem like a very sweet girl! I wish you nothing but the best, and I will definitely keep up with your blog πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kayla says:

    I will really miss your lovely insta posts but totally understand it’s a lot of pressure and work. Will look forward to the blog posts when they come. Best of luck sweetie you will be missed by many of us! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Colby Triolo says:

    emmy!I dont know how this is the first time I am on your blog</3 Everything you said is so understandable and you are stepping away for all of the right reasons I totally support this and can't wait to follow you on here instead. xoxo Colby

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emmy says:

      Hey girl! I can’t believe I haven’t checked yours out either! I would love to keep in touch with you because you’ve always been such a sweetie and so inspiring to me πŸ™‚ do you have a snapchat?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Colby Triolo says:

        yes please would love to stay in touch:) I do but it’s not health and fitness related at all but it’s colby_triolo and same on fb!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

