Update On Life: Filling The Gap

on

Hey there guys! I have worked the past three days in a row so today I am going to give y’all a little update on my life and all my nonsense 😉 You clicked on this post for a reason, if you don’t want to here a girl talk about her day, this isn’t for you…. Haha, but if you like rambles then you are in the right place.

What’s new with me?

I started a new job… My first job. As a waitress. LOL I know right? How smart of me to start with a mentally and physically exhausting job when I have never worked before! But seriously though, I actually kind of love/hate it. I love it because it keeps me busy, I get to interact with so many new people every day, and I get to bring home money every night from tips! Sometimes I hate it because some of my co-workers are bossy and think I must have the IQ of a walrus. But I block away the hurtful comments because I know they just want me to do my job correctly… but it does get annoying after a while. It’s also absolutely crazy how little we are paid for all the extra work we have to do in the kitchen for what we are paid (I’ll give you a hint: WAY below min wage) The second night I came home and my feet and calves were SO SORE! It was 9:30 when I finally had the chance to eat dinner.

job
If you lost your “dork” I think I may have it… My mom just had to take a picture like it was my first day of school
Now, I am writing so much about this new job because it’s changing me. Strangely in a very good way.

I feel like an adult finally. I feel accomplishment after a day’s work. I am breaking out of my shell and learning to be more comfortable talking to strangers and dealing with criticisms in a non-personal perspective. At first I was very weirded out about eating dinner so late but now I see it as no big deal.

I think the one thing missing from my life before this was having a job. Something to make me feel good and independent. A sense of pride…

listen-to-your-body

I saw where I was headed before I started this job. I was using exercise as my main focus in life. Quite honestly it was beginning to feel like the only hobby I really had anymore and one of the few things I felt “accomplished” about. I am so much more than that. I am not saying exercise is a bad thing… but when it becomes the ONLY thing you look forward to, I would say it might be. With this job to keep me busy, I barely have the energy to go to the gym and workout. I think I’m okay with that too. Why would I want to go and push myself when my body is already sore and aching? THAT would be setting myself up for feeling like a failure. I will wait until I feel like it. There’s no need to plan it out, just let my body decide when it’s ready again.shrug

Another thing. I barely think about food like I used to. Now, I really see it as energy to get me through the day or til I can eat again. I’m not obsessing about how much protein I’m getting to “make gains”. Forget that ! All foods are important for a healthy body. Too much protein actually just comes out in your pee if you are eating too much. Jus sayin’

Instead of looking for low-cal options, I actually look for higher calorie options because it satisfies me better 🙂

I never really notice how much progress I have made in just one year until I write it all out. I cannot believe how much happier and more fulfilled I feel now than I ever have in my whole life. I feel freedom and I truly truly mean that. I look forward to eating a big cheesy slice of pizza, my night snacks, naps, and (imma stop here because all this food talk is making me hungry again I ain’t lying)

pizzaa
me when I’m eating pizza^^
 A couple more quick thoughts before I come to a close:

I am getting an ultrasound this week and blood work to figure out what’s wrong with my hormones.

I started watching The Office again and holy crap I forgot how much I loved that show!

I think I about misspelled every word in this post and I don’t know where my brain is.

I actually really want cold pizza this very second. We have none 😦

I’m also all out of my favorite almond butter and feeling very deprived.

Leave any questions, comments, or whatever is on your mind because I’d love to hear it!

❤ Emmy

3 Comments Add yours

  1. superfitbabe says:

    I actually started my first job last week as well, except I’m a sales associate! I totally agree that it’s incredible for practicing independence. I’ve found that working helps me keep accountable of what I have to recall and forces me to interact with people–not in a negative way, of course! My co-workers are actually really sweet, but sometimes it can get very overwhelming with everything I have to do!

    Like

    1. Emmy says:

      Haha, I guess the both of us are seriously trying to adult! I am glad to hear you are enjoying it for the most part, it will get easier over time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Alex says:

    I started my first job in high school and still work at the same place when I come home from college! I had the same issues when I struggled with food, but I view it as energy, like how it’s supposed to be viewed as. It’s also so rewarding to actually make your own money. 🙂 Glad you’re enjoying it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

