Dealing With Anxiety Attacks

I’m writing this post right now because I am dealing with a subconscious anxiety attack. Now, I feel really calm but anxiety tends to run in my family and it happens whether you think you are anxious or not. I have only had two major anxiety attacks in my life where I felt like I was having a heart attack but thankfully with gaining weight and decreasing my stress a bit, they haven’t been occurring like they used to.

Anxiety attacks for me now are something like this:

Feeling short of breathe. Feeling as if my chest is tight and I have to take deep breathes to breathe normally and get enough oxygen.

At first I thought maybe my bra was too tight but I really do think it’s a deeper problem.

Anxiety Attack And have an anxiety attack

Okay I just had to put this in

I also tend to feel a little jittery and can’t sit still when I feel this way. I really wish I knew how to manage this better besides just taking deep breathes. People tell me yoga is a great stress reliever and such but I just haven’t gotten into it. I find myself getting bored 10 minutes in and don’t feel like I’m doing it right.

I am writing this also to seek advice. For anyone that has anxiety problems that you have no idea where they come from, how do you manage it? I don’t want to go on medication but didn’t know if there were any cool remedies for it.

Please leave a comment or email me at emlove814@gmail.com

X0X0

7 thoughts on “Dealing With Anxiety Attacks

  1. anxious_but_courageous says:

    Hey girl!
    I have generalized anxiety disorder and have anxiety/panic attacks pretty much daily. Unfortunately I find that I’m also very restless and jittery, sometimes feel like I’m having a heart attack, can’t breathe, and sometimes can’t feel my limbs. Honestly I find what helps me is “grounding”. I have someone ask me questions about thigs I see, hear, smell, etc in my immediate surroundings and it often helps. If there’s no one around me I try to do that for myself. Aromatherapy sometimes helps me too- I’ll light a candle and turn on some calming music (I personally find Christian music really calming during anxiety attacks even though I’m not particularly religious). Getting outside also really really helps me personally. Even if it feels scary to go outside walking in the fresh air works well for me. Hope that helps! If you ever need anything just message me on Instagram! I’m anxious_but_courageous. I’m so happy to talk about anything you might need! Stay strong beautiful ❀️

    Like

  2. Hana says:

    Online meditation (Doreen Virtue), drawing, going outside to count ANYTHING and EVERYTHING (takes your mind off of the anxiety and at the same time structuring everything…like counting leaves on a tree, bugs you see on the sidewalk, cars going by), holding ice in your hand, jumping hard on the ground (can get out energy), smelling lavender πŸ™‚ ❀

    Like

  3. superfitbabe says:

    I also deal with terrible, terrible anxiety where I let my emotions get the best of me. In stressful time periods I would just cry for no real reason–it was AWFUL. I’m no professional but I think that talking to someone about it or just taking a break from everything by meditating, taking a walk, looking at nature or even just doing a very calming activity such as coloring, listening to music or even taking a bath should alleviate the anxiety. It might also be the current state that you’re going through and time will heal itself. That’s what happened for me at least when I would get anxiety attacks a few weeks ago!

    Like

    • Emmy says:

      But it’s related to nothing! I wasn’t feeling nervous about anything at all and this happened after my walk and writing. It’s very weird and underlying. But thank you so much for the advice and I’m going to try taking time every day to do something more peaceful πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lyss says:

    Learning to take deep breaths, stay mindful and in the moment, reaching out to someone, lying down, getting a cold glass of water, and listening to relaxing music really helps me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

