Dietitian Talk: Focus on the individual

You know what really gets on my nerves being a future dietitian? The ignorance of “individuality” as far as what is pushed by most dietitians. Have you ever logged on the computer and saw a health article written by a notorious dietitian and it was about a diet, portion sizes, or “good” foods versus “bad” foods. I know I have, almost every health related article out there is focused on that nowadays.
Want to know why this bothers me? Keep reading.
First of all, what about athletes? Okay, so are you telling me that an athlete needs to be reading about how to “cut down” portion sizes. Are you telling me that someone that works out several days a week needs to be eating only 1/2 cup pasta at a meal or a few squares of dark chocolate before bed?

I will tell you this based on research and personal experimentation that an athlete should NOT be eating under 2000 calories a day. You know why? Muscle catabolism. Recovery. Delayed onset muscle soreness (DOMS). Hormone Imbalance. Calorie exertion while exercising and even increased metabolism. All of this needs to be replenished with ADEQUATE nutrition. Not avoiding carbs or what they call “calorie bombs”, or the BS that is brainwashing girls (and guys) into restrictive diets. What needs to be addressed is who the audience is for, not generalizing the entire populations needs.

customized sports nutrition program created for your individual needs ... Now, I get it. Some of the population is overweight and some are naive to a balanced diet…. But some people think they need to lose weight when really they have body dysmorphia. Yes, it’s a thing, and it can be mentally consuming.


I’m so done with this. My goal in becoming a dietitian is to focus on every individual. Being informative, yet realistic. Eating less is not always better. Not for some people. Now, if you want a slow metabolism for life, go for it. But increasing your metabolism naturally is possible and you don’t have to feel utter restriction by avoiding foods you love. You don’t have to workout every single day to “earn” a burger and fries. And no, that won’t kill you either. There should be no “good” or “bad” foods, no “eat this not that”, and no more lies that eating at night makes you gain weight. That last one makes me laugh because it’s so moronic.

*The ONLY time people should be cutting down are people that have a health issue that requires them to, people in competition (which is TEMPORARY-not sustainable long term), or people that suffer with binge eating disorder (while not cutting out foods completely).

This was more of a rant than anything but I’m just really tired of the mixed messages out there that are completely changing the way people think. I remember way back when I was 12 years old and read those things on the internet, I was so convinced it was what I needed to do. Sure enough, I slowly developed anorexia and it happened so fast. People say “be the change you wish to see in the world” and I have never been more convinced to that.

Do you think this is a problem in the media?

Have you ever seen something that made you doubt yourself?

 

2 thoughts on “Dietitian Talk: Focus on the individual

  1. superfitbabe says:

    Yes, authenticity is HUGE. I find that every single person in their little health group seems to promote the same things, and I really wish that more people find their OWN way instead of just being a clone of some bigger icon or idea. Anyways, I think that what you promote is VERY honest and accurate but also very overlooked. People are just way too focused on quick fixes, which is what they receive, but nothing is sustainable (ex: The Biggest Loser).

    Like

  2. Jo Grossman says:

    Love this! You took the words right out of my mouth. I’m so sick of all that naive diet talk. I find one of the hardest parts of recovery is being able to tune out diet talk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

