College is… different

on

College is different. It was a scary transition because I am so used to making my own meals, not being on the go all the time and had time to myself.
College is the complete opposite and let me tell you, I am not used to staying up late. I literally have big bags under my eyes by the end of the day so I don’t stay up all night like most people.

One thing I’m learning is that meaning of food has changed. It no longer is something I spend so much of my day trying to perfect. It’s something that keeps me alive no matter what it is. I cannot afford to lose weight in college. I have no intentions to. What I do know is what my body needs. I am walking miles a day, I NEED soo much fuel right now. I carry snacks with me at all times and I’m not shy when filling up my plate in the dining hall.

hea

Even if I may not be completely comfortable with my food choices, I don’t think about it as much because I just don’t have the time. If I need to eat poptarts at 10:00 pm, then I do. If that means adding fries to my meal, I do it. I have worked too hard to let my progress fall down the drain.

Not saying it’s always easy when I see girls after hours of school just eat a small salad. I have learned to push it aside because my body has different needs than theirs. One thing that is coming back for me is normal hunger cues which I am thrilled about because it makes it easier to eat. There was a point I was absolutely never hungry.

This is changing me for the better. I know if I never got this opportunity, I would not have grown or broke the bad habits I had for myself.

Please go break those rules you have. This week has truly shown me that life is SO MUCH MORE THAN FOOD AND EXERCISE. Get to know people! They won’t judge you like you think they will. Being social is one of the best self esteem boosters.

I am ready for whatever life will throw at me.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. alyssac1129 says:

    so proud of you em, you’ve come so far! xoxo ❤

    Like

    1. Emmy says:

      Thank you Alyssa ❤️

      Like

  2. Eilish says:

    I am so proud of your progress. I know that you’ll do great at college!

    Like

    1. Emmy says:

      Aww thanks girly

      Like

  3. Alicia says:

    Life really is so much more, and I’m glad that college has given you the opportunity to see that! I’m proud of you for staying strong and I know you can handle anything. I’m wishing you the best girl 🙂

    Like

  4. I love this post! I remember how out-of-control I felt when I had to start eating dining hall food for every meal of the week instead of my mom’s home cooking! You’re right, it is SO important to go outside of your comfort zone at college so that you can focus on things like friends instead. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

