WIAW 7/22/15

IMG_2454

HOLA! You all ready to see some noms? I thought I would share what I ate on Sunday because I remembered to take pictures of everything.

Brekkie:

This was the day of barely any food in the house. The night before I made overnight oats because we still had oats and I layered it with a frozen banana since it was literally the only fruit in the house. Listen people- DO OVERNIGHT OATS RIGHT! You are supposed to leave a hefty amount of nut butter on the bottom and sides of the container or else its a boring jar and it’s not as exciting. It’s the best part to get to the bottom and experience bliss. I add the oats in the morning so the nut butter doesn’t melt into the oatmeal πŸ™‚

vevehhh

That morning my mom and I went grocery shopping and that was very exciting. Who doesn’t like to get fresh, new things? Luckily my breakfast held me over pretty good til lunch and I wasn’t really hungry but that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t eat when I know I need to.

For lunch I made a wrap with chicken strips (btw, there were a lot more in there than the picture is showing), hummus and spinach wdsaith veggies and tortilla chips!

This also was the day it was scorching hot and humid. Tennessee gets that way and you will not survive if you don’t have a pool and/or good air conditioning. I went swimming for a bit with my family and chilled out that whole afternoon. I love Sundays. I wanted something sweet for a snack so I decided to give the “Beltsander Brownie” another chance since my last one almost exploded. It was too fricken good. I put a big glob of Toffee Crunch Nuts N More peanut butter on top and it was fantastic. For the brownie:

beld

  • 1 scoop chocolate whey(I used Quest)
  • 1 T cocoa powder
  • 1/3-1/2 cup milk (didn’t measure)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Mix it all together until it looks like a sludge. Spray a bowl and microwave it for about 20-25 seconds. You don’t want to overcook it, its supposed to be thick and molten. I also had a glass of milk and a granola bar because this would not fill me up the slightest!

For some reason, I have been so sleepy this past week and I have NO idea why! I took a little nap after this and didn’t feel like leaving my bed until dinner. I haven’t been doing much to begin with and don’t stay up super late either. Anyone get like this?? I finally got the energy to roll myself outta bed and to go make some dinnah.

Pleased by all my options, I settled on some salmon and also made some brown rice, black beans, and sauteed vegetables on the side with of course, avocado. This was so filling but so yummy.

bm

Dinner woke me up a little but I still didn’t feel like doing much so I wasted time playing with my computer and painted my nails. Dessert was a few hours later πŸ™‚

I picked up some new cereal because I realized I haven’t had a good cereal in a while. Kashi sweet potato sunshine is new and I recommend it to anyone that likes sweet potato! It’s lightly sweetened and really good to add to yogurt. I mixed my yogurt with oats and chia seeds then topped it with fresh blueberries, kashi cereal, and peanut butter. Twas a good night πŸ˜‰

sweet

What is your all time favorite cereal?

Does anyone else go crazy if they have no bananas in the house?

4 thoughts on “WIAW 7/22/15

  1. cayanne says:

    Hi sweets,
    Most likely it’s not the case, but if you’ve been feeling lethargic/ sleepy/ kinda less motivated to do stuff than your usual sunny self, it could be an indicator of either a gluten intolerance or allergy. When I was having all my digestive issues, it took me about 4 months to get diagnosed with Celiacs. Granted the tiredness wasn’t the symptom I went to the doctor with, but after the fact he told me that all those days I found it difficult to get out of bed, felt irritable and slow, etc were in fact related to my body’s inability to process gluten. If you only experience this once in awhile though and don’t have other symptoms like stomach pain/ constipation/ dizziness etc I’m sure you’re fine but I just wanted to throw it out there because when I found out it was like a giant lightbulb. XO healthyezsweet/Cay

    Like

    • Emmy says:

      Hey! Thanks for the concern and advice. I actually haven’t had any stomach problems and definitely don’t have constipation. Thank goodness! πŸ™‚ but I will keep that in the bad of my head if I ever feel those.

      Like

  2. fitwithdasha says:

    Hey! Your meals today looked delish! As for your tiredness- usually 3 things will set this off for me:
    1) Recovery. When my body is recovering/growing I sleep like a baby!
    2) Weather. Whenever there is a storm or low pressure system I get SO sleepy!
    3) Low Iron. It’s one of the most common vitamin/mineral deficiencies…I recently wrote a post about it if you’re interested in learning more: http://fitwithdasha.com/iron-deficiency-101/

    Hope that helps! I wouldn’t be worried about it though- if your body is asking for sleep, it’s often a positive sign πŸ™‚ (At least from my experience, I wake up so much more refreshed!)

    And to answer your questions: HM Not sure about my favorite cereal but I love: PB Puffins, Homemade Raisin Bran (Bran Flakes and Raisins), and I love using Kashi Go Lean Crunch for granola (as well as any of the Trader Joes Granolas!!)

    I don’t go crazy about bananas but I used to! I’m in a strawberry phase for the summer, but I’ll probably return to bananas in the fall!

    Sorry for the worlds longest comment hehe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

