You Can’t Gain Muscle Mass Being Underweight

on

I have been thinking a lot this week and came across several conclusions. There are more reasons why gaining muscle is nearly impossible when you are underweight.

fds

You have the willpower to stop.

When I got checked to see my hormone levels, my estrogen levels were pretty low, as well as my testosterone levels(yes, women have some). Testosterone is a hormone that induces muscle growth. As bad as it sounds, that’s why those body builders you see sometimes take steroids to increase testosterone in the body to build muscle.

So what does testosterone do for women?

  • Keeps your bones healthy
  • Maintains sex drive/menstrual regularity
  • Improves mood & cognitive function
  • Clears skin and acne

It sure does a lot more than I thought. Obviously estrogen is the key factor for a healthy female reproductive system, but I’m just trying to connect the dots here.

Weight training and recovering at the same time isn’t something I recommend for the physical and mental healing that should be the main focus. Sure, some can get somewhat toned, others don’t, but chances are you won’t see it when you are underweight. You are distorted.

dis

The only way for me right now to get to a regulated hormone level is to stop all exercise and let my body heal. A healthy weight is needed. Weight training would only prolong it because I don’t have the tissue and fat to build off it, as well as happy hormones. (Yes, happy hormones). Having normal hormones makes you feel better and more happy.

Of course I don’t plan to be a crazy body builder, but I would love to get to the point where I can build muscle better, be healthy and strong. Patience is key. If I am not patient and don’t wait until my body gives me the green light, I will only prolong the process and have to wait even longer. Rest is best.

cuteeMore like erryday 

Sources:

http://www.everydayhealth.com/low-testosterone/women/

http://www.lotusobgyn.com/7-reasons-why-women-need-testosterone/

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrea says:

    so wise and wonderful!!!! This helps me a TON right now!! I too want to have muscle to just in general be strong, injury free, and live life freely! And i guess you are right… until we have a stable base to build that muscle on top of, we are setting our selves up for failure and harming our selves further in the process. Thanks as always!!!!

    Like

  2. emrecovers says:

    gosh preach it girl! I am so sick of reading about people who are in recovery and not weight restored who want to do it “the healthy way” by lifting weights and following bizarre meal plans like iifym

    Like

  3. Sunniva Keely says:

    This post was really helpful! I was just wondering, do you have any experience with extreme hunger, and how to overcome/deal with it? Do you think one should respond to extreme hunger in recovery (even if it lasts for months) or should you try to ignore it?

    Like

    1. emmyvaz says:

      I have had some when I was at a lower weight. It’s normal and it’s very important to eat what you are hungry for. It’s your body trying to get the food and nutrients it’s lacking.

      Like

  4. Amy @ Health Happiness and Balance says:

    This is such a great post and I am so proud of you! It is a common thought that during recovery you can try and build muscle, something which I really struggled with and still occasionally do. The truth is that rest IS best. Your body has been through hell and it’s time that it got the relaxation it needs. Hope you have a lovely day xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

