Fear Foods: How to Face Them

on

If you have/had struggled with an eating disorder, its likely you have certain rules for certain foods. More often than not, its because you have had a bad history regarding it or someone made you believe something about it for you to avoid it. I have overcome many of these things and there are ways to do it. It is possible- but it takes the drive and motivation if you ever want to break free from the fear.

  (Painting I did a while back)  Here are things that worked for me:

Confront the fear head on.

Food is not what you truly fear, it’s the feelings and worry around it.

(Ex. “I can’t eat that because I will blow up and not be able to fit into my clothes”. “If I eat such, I won’t have the control to stop”. )

Write down your fear and evaluate it. Is it really rational? Possible? Your mind can play tricks on you. It’s all about attitude. Instead of telling yourself “I can’t” or “I won’t”…. be more open-minded. Say to yourself: “I CAN eat things that bring me pleasure because I am a human worthy of nourishment” and “I actually WON’T blow up because one thing cannot change my body” Scientifically speaking, one meal is so minimal as far as affecting your body.

Point out the positives 

Don’t read the labels and fixate on every little detail. View the item as a whole and realize the good you are doing for your body. Even if it’s not super packed in nutrients (see post), its OKAY! It probably is a great source of carbs or healthy fats anyways that your body utilizes and makes you feel good and full of energy!

Emmy would say: “WOW, dem poptarts are full of bootylicious carbs that are gonna make me strong and sassy ;)”

Stop calling it “fear food”

If you spend day after day telling your self how scary or forbidden it is, the harder it is going to be to normalize it. Just recognize it for what it is. Sure it may be a little harder to eat now but the more and more you do it, the easier and easier it will become and one day it won’t even be an issue.

Be kind to yourself and trust your cravings

If you are avoiding a food, you not only are not listening to your body but you are making the cravings stronger. The stronger your unsatisfied cravings are, the more you think about it, and the more you fear of “overeating” it. Often times, people will over indulge on it because the have restricted it for so long, leading them to feel bad about themselves later. Then they avoid the food again, and the process repeats. LISTEN TO YOUR BODY! So important. Start incorporating it into your diet again little by little and before you know it, the cravings will lessen because you are getting the satisfaction your body has been asking for.

If you read this post, it’s because you have those foods in mind that you WANT to overcome. It is possible and I will preach to you how very important it is to conquer ALL of those foods. Not only will your mind be so much more clear, your anxiety in general will go down and you will feel free. ❤

 What are some things you want to overcome?

How do you plan to do it?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I cannot begin to express my thanks for creating such a motivating, reassuring post. You’re absolutely right in that it IS possible to overcome these fears–we just need to face them head on and sit with the discomfort and anxiety that arises. With time, those “fear foods” will become viewed as simply “food”. This post inspired me to really challenge myself in terms of my challenge foods and food rules. In fact, I just finished my list of things to challenge!

    P.S. – I love your painting, it’s very artsy! 🙂

    Like

  2. I totally agree!! The key to recovery and healing our relationships with food is balance. Everything is good in moderation – in food and in life!

    Like

  3. Andrea says:

    I am determined to become comfortable around any and all foods so that in ANY social situation, I can just be worry free and enjoy myself!!! I am really trying to do one food per week that makes me uncomfortable— just eat and don’t think about it!!! Then keep doing it!! haha Thanks for the great tips and reminders about WHY this is so important!! love your blog!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

