Why I Stopped Lifting

Last summer, I started weight training with a trainer. My intentions were that I was being “healthy” and going to gain weight but I wanted it to be lean weight. Now that I look back on it, I wish I had thought differently. Seeing a trainer was the LAST thing I needed at a time where I was at a low weight. What I really needed at the time was to EAT and lots of it!

While I still was increasing up to the 3000 calorie guideline, I was putting way to much stress on my body even though no cardio was involved. I made the decision to stop seeing the trainer as I knew it wasn’t good for me mentally and physically. My true recovery started on October 2014. I have gained 10 pounds since then and I plan to gain even 5-10 more or until my body is at the weight it wants to in order to have a menstrual cycle again.

I stopped lifting. To be honest, I didn’t stop all together like I SHOULD have. I went from 5 days a week to 2-3…. Then until recently after being told by the gynecologist that I need more body fat to have a normal cycle, I stopped. Zero days.

This has been one mentally draining and frustrating decision. But who ever said anything ever worth it was easy? Deciding to do Minnie Maud was hard but I did that! So I can stop exercising too. I can be strong.

m

Please take my advice when it comes to recovery. STOP ALL EXERCISE. Whether it’s excessively taking the long way, going for long walks, lifting, etc., when your body isn’t getting a menstrual cycle or at a healthy weight, that’s it’s way of telling you it’s not ready yet.

I am trying my very best to not break down my body piece by piece but see it as a whole. It allows me to do so many things day after day and it will only be so much stronger if I give it this break.

If anyone needs advice or wants to talk about an issue, my email is:

emlove814@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Why I Stopped Lifting

Leave a Reply

