Q&A 6/10/15

Hey guys! I thought I would do my first Q&A! Obviously I may do more in the future because its always interesting to hear what is on your mind. I am very open to giving my honest opinions and thoughts so don’t be shy! Ask away 🙂 Like I promised, these are all anonymous.

1) What’s your favorite thing to do in your free time?

I would say either going for a leisurely walk on this trail by my house or playing with my pup. Have you ever just gone on a walk and stopped to really notice your surroundings? It’s pretty amazing all the little details there are in nature that you just don’t see when you are in a car. I also love my Bailey. And she loves her ball.

walks

2) What workouts are you doing now other than lifting?

I am not currently lifting. I am taking a huge break from that. For anyone not getting a period or that still needs to gain weight, I don’t recommend any exercise either. Til then, I have stretching and walks to the fridge 😉

3) What do you still struggle with most?

Perfectionism. I need to learn to be more flexible and to handle change better when its not in my control. I have improved a lot over the past few months but there is always room for more progress.

4) Do you find it hard to know whether its you or your ED that wants to eat healthier foods?

I can honestly say that my ED is not controlling me anymore. Of course I am not going to say I don’t have some thoughts here and there but for some people I don’t think those ever fully go away. I am learning to listen to what my body truly craves. If I want a salad, I’ll have a salad. If I want a bagel, I’ll damn right have a real bagel. It’s amazing to say that I haven’t ordered a salad at a restaurant in such a long time…. besides Panera. Who could resist? 😉

bagel

5) What are your career goals?

I plan on becoming a dietician. I have gotten a lot of people tell me its because I struggle with an eating disorder, but its really not about that. I have always had a passion for food and health and I also love to help people! I want nothing more than to help others find a balance. I really hate those fad diets that go around and it would be awesome to prevent some people from getting sucked into them. I kind of believe that I went through what I did so I could come out stronger and to use it to help people.

6) What’s your favorite movie?

That’s like probably the hardest question you could ask me… but nothing beats a good old classic Disney movie like Toy Story or Tarzan. Yes, I am a child at heart and always will be.

7) What do you do when you are full?  I don’t want to sit down because my stomach is heavy, but I also don’t think it is right to work out.

Sit with it. As impossible as it sounds, its the most healthy thing mentally and physically you can do for yourself. Your body needs nourishment. In no way do you have to go “burn it off” because you are uncomfortable. Bloating is completely normal after eating a meal or snack. I go to bed every night with a little food baby and im okay with it. Do something to distract yourself like watching something funny, reading, writing, painting, or talking to a support person. My mom was the best to talk to when I felt that way. She could always put a smile back on my face 🙂


8)How did you know you had an ED and what did you do to tackle the issue?

Such a long story….. But you can read all about it here.

9)How has your experience with Minnie Maud and weight gain been? Do you find it hard to open up to people about your eating disorder in everyday life?

Minnie Maud guidelines basically saved my life once again. I wouldn’t have gained weight back if I hadn’t stopped exercising like I was and increasing to 3000. It is definitely a struggle but you can make the most out of it and treat yourself to things you haven’t allowed yourself in a long time. I really don’t have a problem with people knowing about my past. I cant do anything about it now and it has made me a stronger person. I don’t go around telling everyone I meet about it but if they ask I am not going to deny it.

10) What is your favorite cheat meal? What are your macros and calories?

Woah there. I don’t do “cheat meals”. I am not on a diet and I don’t want to see food as something that needs to be worked for. I eat what sounds good regardless if I had ice cream or pizza that week. Treating yourself everyday isn’t a bad thing. I don’t believe in a perfect diet. It’s not realistic to eat the same nutrients day after day. Learning to be flexible and being okay with eating more fats one day, more carbs the next, is how life should be. Eat food, not numbers.

I may do another Q&A soon for those that didn’t get questions answered here. So hold those thoughts 🙂

Leave a Reply

